Welcome to my blog!

It’s a new year, so it seems like a good time to embark on a new project. Trite, I know, but the impulse is irresistible.

I have, in fact, resisted the idea of blogging for a long time, for several reasons: I’m an essentially private person, and I don’t believe the world needs to know what I think about every little thing. I also didn’t think I’d be able to come up with anything to say. But I’ve decided to stretch myself and try it. I warn you, though–I subscribe to the dictum, “Better to be silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt.” So I probably won’t be blogging every day. I’ll only open my mouth when I’m fairly sure I have something to say that will be worth other people’s time to read.

As my tagline says, I’m going to focus on “thoughts on writing, reading, and the Christian life.” I’m not a travel writer–the “Wayfaring” in the blog title refers to the Christian pilgrimage through this life, as in the spiritual, “I’m just a poor wayfaring stranger, traveling through this world of woe.” I make absolutely no claims for myself of any particular wisdom about the Christian life, still less any degree of accomplishment in pursuing it. I’m a wayfarer, a pilgrim, struggling to “work out my salvation with fear and trembling” according to the wisdom of the Orthodox Christian faith. Anything I may share will be either wisdom I’ve gleaned from others, or hard lessons from my own experience. If you ever catch me saying anything that sounds like preaching, self-righteousness, or laying down the law, for God’s sake (and I mean that literally) call me on it immediately!

As for the writing: I’ve been writing something or other all my life, but I’m a late bloomer as a fiction writer. I decided I wanted to write fiction when I was 11, but got sidetracked by education, babies, and making a living until my mid-forties. At that point I realized that I needed to write to avoid going nuts. At this point I’ve published one short story and one children’s picture book, Lucia, Saint of Light, and written two novels, which have yet to be published. You can find out more about all of them on my website.

As a reader, I was precocious: I taught myself to read at age 4 and have rarely been without a book in hand since. One thing I want to do on this blog is to share books and authors that I have found especially memorable, enlightening, helpful, or just plain fabulous. I plan to create a page of my favorites and to post briefly about books I’m currently reading. For a more in-depth treatment of one book per month, listen to the podcast I contribute to, “Speaking of Books” on Ancient Faith Radio.

In both my reading and my writing, I focus on what I’ve heard called “God-haunted fiction”–fiction in which the whisper of Grace is audible through the characters and the plot. I’m not a fan of preachy, moralistic fiction; God doesn’t beat people over the head with His Word, and neither should writers. But I’m not interested in reading–and, please God, am incapable of writing–anything that does not reflect the redemptive incarnate presence of Christ in the midst of this fallen, broken world.

Thank you for wayfaring with me. I hope you enjoy the journey! Please let me know of any way I can make it more enjoyable.

2 comments on “Welcome to my blog!

  1. Electra Taisia says:

    I look forward to following this blog!

  2. Ginny says:

    Katherine,
    Congratulations! I’ll be one of your interested readers. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

