The Great Orthodox Children’s Book Giveaway!

Today I’m departing from my usual subject matter to announce an exciting new contest! From today through Sunday, Nov. 14, you have the opportunity to win any of five great Orthodox children’s books by five wonderful authors.

First, I’m giving away a copy of my own picture book, Lucia, Saint of Light. St. Lucia was an early martyr whose December 13 festival is particularly beloved by Scandinavians. The book tells St. Lucia’s life story within a story of a modern Swedish-American family celebrating her festival. Comment here or on my Facebook page to be entered. If you need a subject to comment on, tell me what children’s book you plan to give or would like your children to receive this Christmas.

The other authors participating in the giveaway are:

Jane G. Meyer, author of several wonderful books, is giving a copy of The Woman and the Wheat, a charming story of how a grain of wheat becomes the Eucharist bread. Head over to her blog to enter her drawing and read more about the contest and the participants, since the whole thing was her idea!

Heather Zydek is giving away a copy of Basil’s Search for Miracles, a middle grade novel about a boy who discovers God and Orthodoxy through a school newspaper assignment. You can enter her drawing by commenting on Jane’s blog.

Claire Brandenburg, a talented author/illustrator, is giving away a copy of The Tumbled Stone, about St. Herman of Alaska. Enter her drawing by emailing her through her blog.

Chrissi Hart, author of several picture books and reader of many more on her Ancient Faith Radio podcast, Readings from Under the Grapevine, is giving away a copy of The Hermit, the Icon, and the Emperor, the fascinating true story of how one of the oldest icons in existence found its home on the island of Cyprus. Visit her blog to enter.

Have fun reading and entering! I’ll post the winner’s name on Monday, Nov. 15.

30 comments on “The Great Orthodox Children’s Book Giveaway!

  1. Calee says:

    Books for Christmas are a family tradition. I don’t know which ones will make it under the tree, but I’d love to hear what other parents are planning (and I wouldn’t mind winning one πŸ™‚

  2. Tara says:

    Our family does receive a visit from Santa every Christmas. He always leaves some kind of religious based gift. The past several years he has brought an Orthodox children’s book of some sort. How wonderful it has been lately to see so many of these books available!!! Right now I have no idea which one Santa might bring this year. Maybe it will be one we win a copy of through these wonderful drawings you and other authors are doing. God bless you!

  3. Aimee Ehrs says:

    Don’t count me for the giveaway — Lucia is in our catalog! — but I had to comment because I was happy to be directed to your blog. One way or another, Lucia will be in our Swedish+American home for St. Lucia’s feastday. Our daughter, soon to be three, is ready for these longer storybooks now. MY Christmas favorite last year was Dandi Daley Mackall’s Three Wise Women of Christmas (Orthodox in content, if not in name!) which I hope the Zydek girls enjoyed.

  4. Adriane says:

    We actually bought a signed copy of Lucia: Saint of Light for our daughter for Christmas last year. It is one of her treasures. πŸ™‚ So if we win the drawing, we will send it to our godson so he can enjoy the story too.

    New Orthodox children’s books are a Christmas tradition in our home also. This year, we are planning to get the Saint Dionysios book from http://orthodoxchildrensbooks.com/ , as well as a new set of 12 mini-books that will be released soon. I’m also looking at The Ravens of Farne: A Tale of Saint Cuthbert by Donna Farley, Silent as a Stone: Mother Maria of Paris and the Trash Can Rescue by Jim Forest, and Pictures of God: A Child’s Guide to Understanding Icons by John Kosmas Skinas. It is always so hard to choose and stay within budget!

  5. Kyrie says:

    What a wonderful opportunity! Thank you!

  6. Mimi says:

    St. Nicholas always brings a religious book for the kids, I haven’t chosen this year’s yet.

  7. Nicole says:

    Hello! I just bought Pictures of God: A Child’s Guide to Understanding Icons and am very happy with it. My son is still young, but I think he’ll like to look at! I hope to be able to get him Jesus Is Born by Sergia Clare Anatolios. I am also looking for a great book about St. Nicholas.

  8. kristina says:

    This is such a lovely book – would be thrilled to share it with my godsons!

  9. Kh. Anastasia says:

    So far I know my girls will receive The Tumbled Stone and my son gets What is an Icon?, but I have three godchildren still to shop for… I have to make sure I don’t send them a repeat! But I’d love to add your lovely book to one of their libraries.
    Thank you for offering this giveaway.

  10. Heather Domanski says:

    What a wonderful idea! We usually give books for Christmas-and age appropriate Orthodox takes some looking. This year in school, my daughter wrote a paper on St. Lucia and made a banner for Church to celebrate All Saints Day in the Western Church. Her birthday is on St. Lucia’s Feast Day. We plan to also get her an icon of this saint to add to our icon corner.

  11. biss says:

    I just ordered Keeper of the Light: Saint Macrina the Elder, Grandmother of Saints by Bev Cooke, and Bearing the Saint by Donna Farley for my daughters, but I would love a book on Saint Lucia, as she is one of the saints we considered naming our firstborn daughter after (and we may consider it again).

  12. aviendha1979 says:

    I would love to have this for the kids! Please enter me. πŸ™‚

  13. For all those who don’t win the free copy but would still like to have one: Just click on the book cover above to order the book from Conciliar Press.

  14. Matushka Sally says:

    Ah, Saint Lucia brings backs memories when I was chapel secretary many years ago, I was dressed as Lucia (candle wreath on head and all), along with the chaplains, their children and the intern playing a mandolin going through the dorm hallways singing “Santa Lucia” and handing out Lucia buns. We got reported to the dean because it was exam week and there was a 24 hour quiet in effect. The dean replied with a comical letter that included sentencing on boxing day for our offence.

  15. I would love the chance to win this for my girls; they would really enjoy it !

  16. Jennifer says:

    My 4th daughter’s name is Lucy and I’ve been thinking about getting this book for her this year! I’m also thinking about the St. Brigid book by Jane Meyer.

  17. Amanda says:

    I found my way here from Jane’s blog. I would love, love, love to have a copy of this book! I have read it before and it is beautiful.

  18. Maria Weir says:

    I heard Dr. Hart read this on Ancient Faith. WOnderful book, as are all of the books in this give-away. We read Heather’s book aloud as a family a couple of years ago. What a great book.

  19. Selena says:

    I would be very glad to be in the draw – this would be perfect for Nativity.
    Regards
    Selena

  20. Brandi Bates says:

    We are development workers living in Lupeni, Romania, worshipping and working with the Orthodox Church. Our almost 1 year old son, Gabriel, just celebrated his first “name” day on Monday, and our daughter, who was born before we became Orthodox and who is not named after a saint, declared that she too wants a saint’s name. She wants Lucia added to her name. She knows a bit about Saint Lucia but we would love for her to know more if she’s going to be “named” after her. Your book looks wonderful. Advent blessings from Romania!

  21. My daughter wanted to dress up as Saint Lucia ever since learning about it from the American Girls…oh, and we were members at a largely Swedish church when she was born; although she’s half Chinese (dad) and 1/4 Greek (me). Thank you for the give-away!

  22. Melissa says:

    What a lovely idea you and Jane have had! And I would love to read your book about St. Lucia. My oldest daughters are 30, 28, and 24, but my youngest is 7! All four would love it (as well as my 5 year old son and my 3 year old granddaughters!)

  23. Raja Marji says:

    We would love to be included in the drawing for this beautiful book to share with family and friends. God bless you!

  24. Sarah in SB says:

    Such a dear saint. When I was in high school, and still protestant, I was assigned to dress with the wreath and white dress for the Nativity season gigs that my chorale performed nearly nightly. I’d love to be able to share this book with my daughter.

  25. bluecanopy says:

    Our family would love a copy.thank you for doing this!

  26. Georgia says:

    We LOVE this Saint, and your book! WE go to a special celebration for Santa Lucia at Holy Resurrection Orthodox CHurch near Boston, every December… the celebration and what they do after the Divine Liturgy is SO beautiful! Have you heard of it? if not, let me know.. and i will email you about it! You would LOVE to be there at their celebration one day! i get chills just thinking about it! much love in Christ, georgia – thank you for blessing our children, and us!

  27. Ruth says:

    I just saw the st Lucia nook for the first time today. Beautiful. Our church does a st Lucia procession every year so I would love to give my daughters a copy of that book st some point.

  28. Carrie Carpunky says:

    I would love to win a copy. I am a church school teacher & am always looking to add books to our collection!!

Leave a Reply

