And the winner is . . .

The Great Orthodox Children’s Book Giveaway is over. The lucky winner of a free signed copy of Lucia, Saint of Light is . . .

Melissa Braun!

Here’s Melissa’s comment: “What a lovely idea you and Jane have had! And I would love to read your book about St. Lucia. My oldest daughters are 30, 28, and 24, but my youngest is 7! All four would love it (as well as my 5 year old son and my 3 year old granddaughters!)”

Wow, what a champion mom! I have a fairly big span of children myself–ages 12 to 31–but only four total. I hope all the Braun daughters and granddaughters will enjoy the book.

Thanks to all who entered! It’s been fun reading your comments and seeing how many of you already love St. Lucia and celebrate her festival in various ways. I feel like I’ve made some new friends. I hope you’ll all continue to visit the blog and comment from time to time.

St. Lucia Day is less than a month away–start planning your celebrations now!

2 comments on “And the winner is . . .

  1. Melissa says:

    Katherine-
    I apologize for the terrible delay in thanking you for the beautiful book! I have been swamped of late, but did receive it a week or so ago, and I am so delighted! Thank you again for such a beautiful-and timely-gift. My youngest daughter Ginny is singing on Sunday night in a church program the lovely song ‘Santa Lucia’ with our children’s choir. So it is perfect to have your beautiful book right now!
    I am the mother of 7 children, 2 grandchildren, and 2 more grandbabies-to-be! Thank you for your kind description of “champion mom”-it means a lot to me to be a good mom. My husband and I have 5 bio-kids, ages 20, 24, 26, 28, and 30, and two adopted kids (who I love so much and consider to be so much my own that I actually often forget that I did not give birth to them!)ages 5 and 7. My little ones were both the products of drug-addicted and severely neglectful and abusive homes, but they are the lights of my life.
    Thank you for letting me share about my beautiful family, and thank you for sharing with me your beautiful book.
    Blessed Advent, and Glorious Christmas to you!
    Melissa Braun

  2. I’m so glad your family is enjoying the book, Melissa. And I’m glad more people are coming to love St. Lucia! A Blessed Advent and Nativity to all of you as well!

Leave a Reply

